Photo: the summer of 2012

This photograph, which I took last month in Grafton Street, Dublin, summarises for me the summer of 2012. There had just been a terrible downpour of rain, and there were still some raindrops in the air. But now the sun had come through, and so you see people with umbrellas, and others in shirtsleeves.

On the whole, I suspect not many will remember this summer with any great degree of fondness. And we always manage to hope that the next one will be better.

Explore posts in the same categories: photography

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Photo: the summer of 2012”

  1. Still smiling me... Says:

    Hey, who needed the sun when we had the best summer of sport ever. An inspirational 2 months which has encouraged me to put on my training shoes once more.

    Anyway, my Grandma always said that there is no such thing as bad weather – just the wrong clothing!

  2. Vince Says:

    Still it was bright enough to shoot from the hand and have about f10. Here many days in June I had to push the iso up to 2/400. It was ridiculous. I’ve had more usable light at dusk.
    And isn’t raw marvelous. I’ve pulled stuff back for the blown out dead that I’d thought were total waste.

  3. Anna Notaro Says:

    ‘And we always manage to hope that the next one will be better’,
    I suppose this is exactly what the pic captures, the natural cycle of rainy and sunny days, easy metaphor for the human capacity to forget the pain of the living condition and hope in the joy that the future can bring. Some just quicker than others to put aside the umbrellas and face the sun. But I might just over-intellectualizing, of course🙂


Leave a Reply

