My sad fate?

Sometimes you can learn things about yourself in emails. Here’s one I received today:

‘Pardon me for not having the pleasure of knowing your mindset before making you this offer and it is utterly confidential and genuine by virtue of its nature.

I write to solicit your assistance in a funds transfer  deal involving US$ 1M.This fund has been stashed out of the money desposited here by formerly respected international figure Ferdinand von Prondzynski, a leading academic now sadly in mental decline. He lodged the sum, which is the value  of his family property, in the Industrial and Commercial Bank which I am the manager. He has no heirs.

I  have already submitted an approved end of the year report for the year 2006 to my head office here in … and they will never know of this sum.

I have since then, placed this amount on a Non-Investment Account without a beneficiary. Upon your response, I will configure your name on our database as holder of the Non-Investment Account.

I will then guide you on how to apply to my head office for the Account Closure/ bank-to-bank remittance of the funds to your designated bank account.

If you concur with this proposal, I intend for you to retain 30% of the funds while 70% shall be for me. Kindly forward your response …’

Ah well, the mental decline bit may of course be true. I wish I did have the funds. And to be honest, I am almost flattered that I have made it to this level of fame. At any rate, this bit of spam gave me a good laugh on a freezing Monday morning.

Explore posts in the same categories: humor, society

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “My sad fate?”

  1. kevin denny Says:

    It seems a bit of a coincidence. Is it possibly a leg-pull?


    • I did of course wonder! But it’s not addressed to me, but to ‘undisclosed recipients’, so it may actually be a coincidence!

      • kevin denny Says:

        I think its possible to configure emails to say that, like when you don’t want everyone cc’ed to see who else is on the list. The “formerly respected” was a nice touch.

  2. Jilly Says:

    fantastic stuff.

  3. copernicus Says:

    Why should be addressed to a VC, destined for paupers like me!

  4. copernicus Says:

    Ferdinand

    Just a different subject. The Newcastle United ( the FC you support I assume) has sacked its manager who brought it up from relegation. There was some blip in recent fixtures, but then who do they think they will get if they behave like this? Thought you would like to know.


Leave a Reply

